Quite a Night

queen 3

It was a night unlike any other.  I had never been so confused in my life.  I didn’t know how to act.  I didn’t know what to say.  I really just had no clue what was going on.

It was a Queen cover band concert, and needless to say, I was the youngest person there.

They were called Queen Nation and to be honest, I didn’t expect much from the night.  My parents had bought me a ticket, assuming I would attend this wonderful night, so I really didn’t have too much of a choice.  As I parked my car by the hallowed Olivas Adobe grounds, I saw a line that stretched around the corner.  The line consisted of middle aged to older aged people, all with big smiles on their faces.  They were excited, and I was along for the ride.

It was quite an event.  Each group of people brought lots of food and wine and beer for the night, as the 50 and 60 somethings were holding nothing back.  When the band came out, they were mimicking the clothes and hairstyles of Queen.  A few songs went by, and I was pretty impressed.  They hadn’t played any popular songs yet, but they sounded pretty incredible!

When the song Bicycle Race began to play, things changed.  The majority of the adults, who had been drinking enough to have a very fun time, got out of their seats and headed for the dance floor.  I sat there, just confused and unsure of what my next move would be.  As the songs kept coming, the old folks kept dancing, and they were really starting to dance.

As the night was coming to a close, Queen Nation pulled out all the stops, playing classics like We are the Champions, We Will Rock You, and Bohemian Rhapsody.  I couldn’t help, but get up, and dance.  I was in the middle of the crowd, just having a grand time.  Old ladies that were die hard Queen fans began to dance with me as well, and all I could do was laugh.  This was so weird, but so great at the same time.

It made me think just how important music can be.  Music brings the oddest groups of people together (like the old ladies and me).  Music, even if it is just by a cover band, makes people’s days better.  Music is something we can all relate to.  It’s just great.

Now, if you love the classics just as much as me, here are some bands that are almost as good as the real thing.

http://listverse.com/2008/12/12/top-10-most-original-cover-bands/

This entry was posted in Entertainment, Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

